SEOmoz PRO Review

seomoz.orgIf you’ve been wanting to try out SEOmoz PRO membership but didn’t want to pay to demo it, then now would be the time to check it out. Recently they announced their new 30 day free trial of SEOmoz PRO for new members. I was at first concerned I wouldn’t be able to sign up for the free trial because I already had a non-pro account, but I was able to easily upgrade my free account to a pro membership and get a 30 day free trial too.

I had been waiting for an opportunity to test out all of their tools but couldn’t justify spending more money on additional tools since I’m already running Web CEO and Market Samurai on my machine. So I took this opportunity to try SEOmoz PRO for free, and walk you through it as I set it up for the first time.

Key Information

Pros: An extensive set of website analysis and link building tools. They do a great job analyzing web pages and reporting which features are important and why. Reports are visually appealing and easy to download. SEO consultants could easily win over prospects by setting up a campaign for them and including the available PDF reports in their proposals. Another plus is they don’t require a long contract commitment; you can cancel anytime.

Cons: Outside of individual campaigns the tools can get a bit confusing. There are random tools in the labs section, the official tools section, the pro section, and Open Site Explorer is on a completely different domain name. Some of the tool links seem a bit redundant and should probably be eliminated. Also, I don’t like the size of the font or spacing throughout the site. Although the information is very useful and looks pretty, it’s hard for me to analyze the data without constantly having to scroll up and down when using my laptop.

Price: Average; 30 day free trial, then $99/mo thereafter for PRO level membership. They also offer PRO elite and PRO Premier level subscriptions. Start FREE Trial Now!

seomoz membership levels

Recommended for: Individuals running Internet-based businesses, students who want to learn SEO, in-house SEOs, SEO consultants and contractors.

Getting Started

The first thing you see after signing up for SEOmoz PRO is the welcome screen which allows you to visit your dashboard or start your first campaign.

seomoz pro welcome screen
I chose to set up my first campaign which was straightforward and simple to do. It walks you through 4 very intuitive and user-friendly steps for setting up my website, keywords and competitors. Upon completion you’ll land on a page with an embedded video of Rand Fishkin offering some basic SEO advice as he goes over some of the features of the web app.

seomoz building campaign

After watching the video I clicked on “take me to my campaign” which landed me on the campaign overview page.

Campaign Overview

seomoz campaign overview

Here there are three main sections on the page which is similar to a site audit: Crawl Diagnostics, Keyword Rankings and Competitive Link Analysis. Each section includes summary information, but you can get more details by clicking on their respective links. Unfortunately you have to scroll down to see 2 out of the 3 sections on my laptop.

As you may have noticed the crawl diagnostics section doesn’t have any information for this campaign. There is a message that says it could take 3-7 days to complete the crawl of my site.

I’m not going to make screen shots of every page within this section, but as you can see by the top navigational buttons there are several major components of each campaign.

Summary of Campaign Features

Overview

On the campaign overview page you get a summary of the most common errors & warnings that were flagged when your site was last crawled, a summary of overall keyword performance, and a summary of how well your web site is comparing against up to 3 competitors.

Rankings

A summary of your overall keyword performance as well as detailed history reports for each of your keywords in each of the major search engines. I have chosen to track my rankings in Google, Yahoo! and Bing.

Crawl Diagnostics

Reports a number of issues found when crawling your site including:

  • 4XX (Client Error)
  • 5XX (Server Error)
  • Duplicate Page Content
  • Duplicate Page Title
  • SEOmoz crawler blocked by robots.txt
  • Title Missing or Empty
  • 302 (Temporary Redirect)
  • Long URL (> 115 characters)
  • Meta Refresh
  • Missing Meta Description Tag
  • Overly-Dynamic URL
  • Search Engine blocked by robots.txt
  • Title Element Too Long (> 70 Characters)
  • Title Element Too Short
  • Too Many On-Page Links
  • 301 (Permanent Redirect)
  • Blocked by meta-robots
  • Blocked by X-robots
  • Meta-robots Nofollow
  • Rel Canonical

On-Page

An on-page seo report card of how specific URLs perform for chosen keywords. Reports are categorized by: critical, high, moderate, low and optional factors based on SEOmoz’s opinion. From my experience these are fairly accurate. They also provide explanations and tips about each reported factor.

seomoz report card

Link Analysis

Provides a side-by-side overview of your site against you competitors which includes: Domain MozRank, Domain MozTrust, Total Links, External Followed Links, Linking Root Domains, Followed Linking Root Domains, Linking C-Blocks, Followed Links vs NoFollowed Links and Followed Linking Root Domains vs NoFollowed Linking Root Domains. You can explore the data further by opening it up in Open Site Explorer.

seomoz link analysis

Traffic Data

Allows you to analyze your organic traffic data by integrating it with your Google Analytics account. You can analyze the number of keywords referring organic traffic, pages receiving referred traffic, and total keywords receiving traffic.

Now that I’ve gone through setting up your first campaign, let’s wander over to the main dashboard.

My PRO Dashboard

seomoz pro dashboard

There’s nothing particularly notable about the My Info and the New & Events buttons, so I’ll skip to the Tool Reports button.

Tool Reports

This section keeps track of the reports you’ve run using the SEO tools from the tools section of the website .

seomoz pro seo tools

There are way too many tools in here to go through them. Many of them just link back to specific sections within your campaigns and others seem as if they’ve been abandoned. You can check all of them out for yourself here.

Q & A

Allows you to browse the professional Q & A knowledge base and have 2 SEO related questions answered by an expert staff member every 30 days.

SEO Resources

Here you’ll find a list of pro-access only resources including: Monthly Webinars, Pro Tips, Pro Knowledge Base, Pro Guides, Pro Discount Store, Pro Video Tutorials, Link Directories and a Social Media Directory.

seomoz seo resources

In addition to the tools and resources available on SEOmoz, you’ll also get access to pro-only features available in their toolbar, advanced link data when using Open Site Explorer, and access to the SEOmoz API.

Is SEOmoz PRO worth the money it cost?

That really depends on your business. For some small business owners it might not be worth the price if you don’t have the resources and time available to invest into your SEO strategy. As should be expected with any SEO software, you’re not going be able to set this up and then all of a sudden start ranking better. You will have to take the recommendations and implement them. But, for SEO consultants and in-house SEOs – especially those who are fairly new to SEO – the training and resources available through SEOmoz PRO could be pivotal to your success.

Get a FREE 30 day SEOmoz PRO trial NOW!

Final Thoughts

SEOmoz PRO seems especially useful for individuals fairly new to SEO; particularly SEO consultants and in-house SEOs. The videos, Q&A and detailed reports make it easy to understand and learn the important on-page and off-page optimization factors right from the start. That’s not to say experienced SEOs won’t find a lot of value here as well (especially Open Site Explorer). If they were seeking my opinion then I’d recommend the tools were further consolidated and the information on each page was more condensed.

Have you tried SEOmoz PRO yet? Feel free to share your favorite features or concerns here to help others in search of reviews.

Share This Article With Friends!

Free eBook: A Practical Guide to SEO

FREE SEO eBook!

Download your copy of our FREE SEO Guide and also receive valuable blog updates via email.



  • February 15th, 2011 at 7:43 am Chucks said:

    Thanks for taking the time to share your view about SEOmoz services

    Thanks
    Chucks

  • February 15th, 2011 at 7:59 am Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Thanks for taking the time to leave me a comment! :)

  • February 16th, 2011 at 9:11 am Will @ Every Day Seo said:

    I tend to dip in and out of Pro, at $99 a month it is a lot but some of the tools are pretty sweet. I find the keyword difficulty tool good but it only give the top 10 results. Same with rank tracker which only searches the top 50 results. Bit annoying when trying to see where your new niche site has appeared. I tend to use seo book tools. The blogs on Seomoz / youmoz though are superb!

  • February 16th, 2011 at 9:23 am Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Hi Will, Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I’m still playing around with all of the tools, but I’ve been reading their blog off and on for years and have to agree that they write pretty good blog posts over there.

  • February 23rd, 2011 at 7:35 am Kristoffer said:

    Hi,

    I’m actually yet to take a look inside SEOMoz Pro. Do you think it’s worth it for experienced SEO’s as well?

    -Kristoffer

  • February 23rd, 2011 at 9:39 am Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Hi Kristoffer,
    It really depends on which tools would be most advantageous to you specifically. I recommend taking advantage of the free trial to see if it fulfills your needs. OpenSiteExplorer is great, but you can use Majestic SEO for advanced backlink analysis and it’s quite a bit cheaper. However, to access Majestic’s API you’ll have to pay substantially more and they don’t offer any site analysis tools. Raven Tools are comparable in price and offer a nice suite of tools, including white label reporting. But they only offer basic on-page optimization and their diagnostic features aren’t nearly as helpful as SEOmoz’s. You can try Raven tools free for 30 days as well.

  • March 11th, 2011 at 1:44 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    UPDATE: SEOmoz recently updated their website making site navigation a bit easier.

  • March 16th, 2011 at 2:05 am Paul said:

    Hi,

    I’ve signed up to the free trial, uploaded a campaig, and now need to produce a ‘monthly seo report’ for the people above. Report needs to show whats gone on in terms of improving the site, rankings, links etc etc. How do I go about this on seomoz? Is it a case of copying all the graphs and creating the report manually? If you have done this, could you give an example of it??

    Many thanks for the info you have posted so far.

    Best,

  • March 16th, 2011 at 9:36 am Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Hi Paul,
    SEOmoz recently launched a new Q&A forum for pro members. I recommend submitting your question there.

  • March 21st, 2011 at 2:41 pm business said:

    If youre new to SEO and its concepts and terminology you wouldnt want to browse through complicated Excel spreadsheets with complex mind-boggling data..Open Site Explorer makes it easy for you to analyze links keywords and the overall performance of your site to help you improve your ranking in search engines.. .You dont want all your hard work to go to waste so it is imperative for every Web marketer and SEO provider to monitor each website and make sure links are delivering results..Open Site Explorer does a number of things. By simply typing in your URL on the search bar and clicking Get Link Data you are able to view a wealth of data including page authority domain authority and the number of links to your site..On the Linking Pages tab filter the results to show all links from external pages only to all pages on the root domain.

  • June 27th, 2011 at 4:54 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Just an update, SEOmoz has made a lot of awesome updates and additions since I wrote this review. They’ve also added a SERP analysis tool, enabled white label reporting and made updates to their toolbar. That’s in addition to the other changes I already noted above.

  • September 6th, 2011 at 10:03 am Don said:

    I have 20 affiliate marketing site. The basic package at $90 per month offers 5 campaigns. I’m confused about the “campaigns” label.

    Would I be able to analyze all of my sites with this package or would I have to go to an enterprise solution. These are my personal sites, not for clients. I really don’t wish to spend much more than the cost of the basic package.

    Thanks.

  • September 25th, 2011 at 5:42 pm Robin Jennings said:

    I really like SEOmoz. For a web designer that offers SEO services as an add-on feature it really is a great tool.

    I imagine if you were an SEO professional you would need further tools but that’s what you would expect.

    My clients have been very happy with the results I’ve gained from SEOmoz

  • November 21st, 2011 at 2:24 pm Birmingham Architects said:

    Being a director of a small SME I have been searching high and low for seo advice. Reality is 90% of so called experts I have spoken to appear to be using Seomoz. We are planning to launch a new website in December 2011 so might be worth me investing in the 30 day trial will update you all with my findings!

  • December 2nd, 2011 at 5:11 am Delhi Flowers Delivery said:

    Hi. I a have started my online shopping portal. I have already hired the best seo company in my country. But, Some how i also wanted to work on the seo on my own. I thought about buying some top seo software’s.. m already working on link assistant and have bought that.. and most probably will buy this seo moz also.. will share my experience …

  • January 3rd, 2012 at 3:00 am Solar Power Quote said:

    Seems way too overpriced to me.

  • January 18th, 2012 at 3:55 am IT Recruitment Agency said:

    Thanks for this review, we’ve been having a look at SEOMoz pro and this article will certainly influence are decision to take it forward.

  • February 2nd, 2012 at 2:35 pm Web Design Caerphilly said:

    I’d like to monitor my own website but as a small business it is a little expensive. Do you have a list of alternative providers and software, perhaps aimed at the smaller website owner.

    Also as a previous poster asked, how many websites can be monitored? If a few can be added then it could be worth it.

  • February 2nd, 2012 at 3:34 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    What all are you looking to monitor?

  • February 3rd, 2012 at 1:41 am Web Design Caerphilly said:

    Good point, should have said! I don’t really know for sure as I am not familiar with the all the tools on offer, but my main interest is to be informed what could be improved on my site to make it more SEF, but also compare my site against competitors, and to have help identifying the areas I could improve to put my site ahead of competitors. Also help identifying keywords to use. At the moment I use a combination of Google Analytics, Google Keyword Tool and the free Open Site Explorer (so limited results). Would be good to use one tool to do it all, but a monthly cost will add up to quite a lot over time, yet they all seem to be expensive like this. ALTHOUGH… if I can show an increase in sales due to using the tool then it would make sense of course to use them. So I may try the trial when I have time, but nevertheless I wanted to know if there are alternatives of lower cost. Thanks.

  • February 3rd, 2012 at 12:26 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Hi Laurence,
    I’ve put together a comparison of some alternatives here: http://www.seorankings.com/seo-software.

    In regards to what you’re looking for I would suggest SEOmoz as the best overall solution because it is really the only one that gives sound on-page SEO advice, and provides a decent backlink analysis tool.

    Unfortunately no tool covers it all, but SEOmoz definitely gets the closest I’d say.

    I currently use a combination of several tools I’ve pieced together over time: WebCEO desktop (mostly for rank tracking), Market Samurai (mostly keyword research, and analysing the top 10 SERPs), and a ton of free tools.

    To save a little money you may want to check out link-assistant because you don’t have to buy the entire suite if you don’t need too. Plus, they have also been improving their on-page SEO advice and are currently putting together their own backlink database.

    RavenTools is really awesome too, but it doesn’t offer any on-page SEO advice, which is about the only thing missing from that suite. However, it’s the same price as SEOmoz.

    Fortunately all of them offer free trials, so you’ll probably want to try each of them out to see which ones best suite you needs.

  • February 7th, 2012 at 5:08 am Web Design Caerphilly said:

    Thanks a lot for that link… maybe WebCEO would be a good starting point then due to lower cost, and if it is used more often and value is obtained from it, then move to SEOMOz for additional features…

  • February 11th, 2012 at 4:18 am Architects Leicester said:

    Hi guys I commentet above about launch of our new website in December 2011. I went on trail version of Moz and within 3 days had a detailed report showing all errors. It is a fantastic and very comprehensive tool. If your serious about seo you need this tool!

  • April 12th, 2012 at 2:22 pm SEO said:

    SEOMoz Pro is great, but I wish they offered a white label service.

  • April 12th, 2012 at 4:01 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    I’m pretty sure they do now.

  • June 22nd, 2012 at 8:03 pm seo solutions said:

    SEOmoz Professional is a floor-breaking strategy of Web optimization instruments that allows you thoroughly analyze all characteristics of your web page and fill in the spaces and reinforce your campaigns. If you’ve been performing ppc for a whilst now, you probably know that in certain cases you are likely to strike a wall with your campaigns and obtaining a system that will provide an different position-of-see is valuable. SEOmoz allows you investigation your campaigns to know what precisely that you’re undertaking mistaken.

Leave a Reply?

free trial button

Free eBook: A Practical Guide to SEO

Free SEO eBook

subscribe to seo rankings via email Download our FREE SEO Guide and receive valuable blog updates:


subscribe to seorankings.com via rss RSS follow seo rankings on twitter Twitter - more ways to connect and subscribe.