Best of The Web Directory Review

botwMany people ask me whether submitting their site to the Best Of The Web (BOTW.org) Internet directory is worth the money it cost to get listed. Well that answer depends on a number of factors. However, if you want to know whether getting listed there has a positive impact on your search engine rankings, then yes, from my experience BOTW DOES seem to positively affect a website’s search engine rankings.

Submit Your Website to BOTW Directory NOW!

BOTW is one of the Internet’s oldest and most respected web directories. It is a human-edited directory which Google appears to recognize as a source for helping identify good websites. Most sub-directories show PageRank in the Google toolbar, their links are followed, and they use realistic anchor text rules.

It is unlikely you will get very many visitors from this directory, or any other directory for that matter. So if that is your only goal, then paying to have your website listed there may not be as worthwhile. However it is one Internet’s best general directories.

How much will getting a BOTW.org listing help my search engine ranking? Well that depends on several factors. If you are a small website with minimal competitors currently sitting on page 6 of Google for your primary search terms, then getting listed here could potentially take you up a few pages in the search engine results.

However, if you are in a very competitive industry trying to move up from position 5 on the first page of Google, then getting listed here alone will likely have little affect when used alone. But, I’d still consider it still depending on your overall SEO and link-building strategy. A BOTW directory link, plus a few more quality links may be exactly what you need to take that leap.

If you plan on submitting any listings to BOTW, then you might want to sign up for their affiliate program so you can get a 25% recurring commission for any listing you submit or listings submitted through your links. That’s what I have done. This is especially helpful since they just increased their annual pricing by $50; now a $149.95/yr fee which covers annual reviews. Or you can pay $299 if you want a permanent listing.

You can also submit your blog to their blog directory for a price of $149.95/yr. You can also submit your blog for free, and only pay if you want an expedited, guaranteed review. I submitted this blog awhile back a long time ago and never heard from them regarding my free submission, so I ended up paying.

They also now have a free local directory, but you’ll have to pay $29.95/mo if you want your listing to include a link back to your website.

In summary, BOTW is a safe bet as it is one of the few remaining and longest lived “Google approved” web directories.

Submit Your Website to BOTW Directory NOW!

Additional resources:
2012 BOTW promo codes
Write your own BOTW review




  • April 22nd, 2011 at 11:17 am Nyla Crystal said:

    Thanks for the information. I am making this decision right now. $150 is not too huge a cost to give it a try.

  • May 31st, 2011 at 9:01 am Kashmiri said:

    If i am not wrong i believe BOTW was free of cost and now i cant find a free option for directoryy submission. Is there a free option available or it is now paid. I want to add travelkashmir.net website to this directory

  • May 31st, 2011 at 10:59 am Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Hi Kashmiri, non-commercial sites can submit to their free queue here.

  • July 13th, 2011 at 6:36 pm Randall Carruthers said:

    The trouble with BOTW is, that they create “placeholder” listings for businesses that have not advertised with them. They did so for my business and listed incorrect contact information. I’ve written to them in an attempt to remedy the problem. I was going to list and advertise with them but I insisted that they fix the bad info they published first. I have never received a response from anyone at BOTW. I can only imagine how bad support is if no-one reads (or they ignore) email from business owners. Still waiting and not advertising with BOTW. I don’t want to support the arm-twisting they do, forcing business owners to pay before they correct misinformation they published without prior consent.

  • October 14th, 2011 at 11:34 am Webbie said:

    It is impossible to reach anyone at BOTW. I had a few questions once I posted a listing and left NUMEROUS voice mails. We had high hopes with BOTW but the results were disappointing (to say the least)…

  • October 14th, 2011 at 12:22 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    I’m sorry to hear that. I’ve never had an issue with them.

  • February 24th, 2012 at 4:09 am Don Poole said:

    BOTW was very very disappointing and very difficult to deal with. Tried numerous times to cancel, thought it was canceled. They billed me anyway. I disputed the charge. They refused. Very questionable business in my opinion.

  • April 4th, 2012 at 6:16 pm Web Directory said:

    I think BOTW remains a good directory from google’s pov

  • April 5th, 2012 at 10:02 pm Asher said:

    I took the chance and submitted my site as a ‘non-commercial’ it was accepted and my listing was showing but the about two months later my listing had been removed. To be honest, i did not notice a change in ranking although it may have been too small a period to have seen any difference

  • April 11th, 2012 at 5:13 pm AnilJangra said:

    Isn’t it against google guidelines to but a link (in this listing)! If its for traffic we can agree to it but not for ranking…

  • April 11th, 2012 at 5:20 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    It’s a gray area, which is why I don’t recommend going out and buying a bunch of directory listings.

    This video should help clarify how Google looks at it: http://www.seorankings.com/what-makes-a-quality-directory

  • June 30th, 2012 at 12:49 am Pete said:

    Great article as I have been mulling over paying $150 for the listing myself and was wondering if it really would be work it.

  • July 25th, 2012 at 6:39 pm starfall said:

    does this paying directories really works as for SEO used and do they really put your sitelink forever for one-time payment? How can you guarantee this kind of transactions?

  • July 25th, 2012 at 8:15 pm Wesley LeFebvre said:

    Hi Starfall,
    I can’t guarantee you anything, because I don’t work for them or the search engines. However, I can tell you that I’ve been submitting my most important websites there without any issues for several years now, and don’t have any worries regarding whether my one-time payment listings are permanent or not – they’ve been in business since the 90s.

  • July 26th, 2012 at 6:01 am starfall said:

    Thank you so much for informing me. For me their is always an issue with money that is why i really need to know whether is worth a try. You are so helpful Wesley LeFebvre. Lots of thanks. Maybe i’ll give it a shot!

Leave a Reply?

free trial button

Free eBook: A Practical Guide to SEO

Free SEO eBook

subscribe to seo rankings via email Download our FREE SEO Guide and receive valuable blog updates:


subscribe to seorankings.com via rss RSS follow seo rankings on twitter Twitter - more ways to connect and subscribe.